Home » Agriculture News » Punjab has been divided into two parts for the cultivation of sunflower.

Punjab has been divided into two parts for the cultivation of sunflower.

Department of Agriculture has divided Punjab into two parts for the cultivation of Sunflower. The first part comprising, Dera Ghazi Khan and Rajanpur, the cultivation will be done till 31st   January. While the second part consists of Bahawalpur, Rahim Yar Khan, Khanwal, Multan, Muzaffargarh, Lodhran, Rajanpur, Bhakkar, Vehari and Bahawalnagar. In these areas it will be cultivated from 1st January till 31st January.

In the third phase of cultivation, sunflower will be cultivated in areas of Mainwali, Sargodha, Khushab, Jhang, Sahiwal, Okara, Faisalabad, Sialkot, Gujranwala, Lahore, Mandi Bahauddin, Kasur, Sheikhupura, Nankana Sahib, Narowal, Atock, Rawalpindi, Gujarat, Chakwal from 15th January till 15th February.

For the cultivation, seeds with good germination rate must be used. For the hybrid varieties of sunflower 2-2.5 kg seed per acre must be sown. Varieties such as High Sun-33, T-40318 and Agora-4 should be cultivated. In order to obtain higher production, it is very important to cultivate the crop timely because in the case of delay in cultivation, not only production per acres decreases but it also lead to reduction of oil content.


Check Also

Livestock Health Worker Training Course

A month-long community training livestock course has been completed by the Department of Livestock and ...

error: Bakhaber Kissan Content is protected !!